top of page

NOHA Most Deserving Official Award - Deb Topash

Every year, the NOHA recognizes the many Officials and Volunteers who contribute to the game in Northern Ontario. Traditionally, these individuals are recognized at the NOHA Annual General Meeting, however due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we will be acknowledging all award winners via the NOHA website and our various social media platforms from April 14 to April 23, 2020.

Most Deserving Official – Deborah Topash (North Bay)

Deb Topash began officiating in 2010 and has always shown a desire to succeed and sets a good example for younger officials. The North Bay resident began assigning officials to games in Powassan, Astorville, Mattawa, and North Bay in 2015/2016. In 2016, Deb was appointed as a Supervisor and attended the NOHA Supervision Seminar in 2017. Deb always does her best to coordinate and assign officials needing supervision. She works with other assignors to get all games in the area covered and even skates last-minute assignments due to book-offs or officials unable to skate games for a variety of reasons. The NOHA would like to congratulate Deb Topash on being named the 2019-2020 Most Deserving Official.

About the Most Deserving Official Award

This Official is rated on their own officiating skills and what they put back into the Branch/Division – i.e. Supervision, Instructor, and Administration.

The following are additional guidelines for consideration when nominating an Official

  • Has played a key role in the Officiating Program within your District; someone who would be sorely missed if they were no longer involved

  • Supervisor who is always willing to go out and supervise younger Officials

  • A person who has assisted with the assigning, instruction and administration at Development Camps, Certification and Re-Certification Clinics


Schedule for announcements

  • April 14, Most Deserving Official – Deborah Topash (North Bay)

  • April 15, Most Improved Official

  • April 16, Most Promising Official (Keith Barton Memorial Award)

  • April 17, Jim Conners Award

  • April 20, Rick F. Albert Memorial Award

  • April 21, Dr. Tom Pashby Trainer of the Year

  • April 22, Ken Neeb Memorial Award

  • April 23, Angus Campbell Merit Award

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page