top of page

NOHA Wraps Up 8th Annual Officiating Development Camp

The NOHA wrapped up its eighth annual Officials Development Camp on May 26th in Sudbury in conjunction with the NOHA’s Under-14 Camp and the OHF/OHL Under-15 Camp.

The Officials throughout the weekend took part in on-ice sessions and classroom sessions to better develop themselves as Officials. The weekend was concluded with the opportunity to officiate the games taking place as part of the camps.

The participants were able to learn from the NOHA’s best Instructors in Ken Miller, Glen Campbell, and Stacy Jackson. Mike McParland, Head Coach of the Nipissing Lakers Men’s Hockey team, gave a presentation on a Coach’s perspective. Hockey Canada Level Five Officials Derik Gratton, Eric Caetano, and Matt Davie were on hand to evaluate the participants while they officiated the games.

The NOHA also took time to recognize the Hockey Canada/NOHA Award winners who were participating in the camp. Travis Assiniwe from Wikwemikong was recognized as the Keith Barton Memorial Award (Most Promising Official) winner. Ashton Sullivan from Timmins was honored with the Jim Conners Memorial Award. Other NOHA officiating award winners for the 2018-2019 season not in attendance at the camp were Hillary Brennan from North Bay (Most Improved Official), and Christian Gratton from Hearst (Most Deserving Official).

(Left - Ashton Sullivan, Timmins. Right - Travis Assiniwe, Wikwemikong).

Camp Participants

Travis Assiniwe – Wikwemikong

Connor Haley – Sudbury

Nick Head-Petersen – Sudbury

Joshua Lemieux-Vandal – Timmins

Russ Moyer – North Bay

Richard Niro – Sault Ste. Marie

Joelle Ouellette – Sudbury

Zach Ouellette – Sudbury

Corey Regich – North Bay

Mat Seguin – Sudbury

James Soehner – Sudbury

Ashton Sullivan – Timmins

Shelby Thom – Timmins

Matthew Vanderweerden – Sault Ste. Marie

Daniel Wright – Markstay

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page