top of page

NOHA Angus Campbell Merit Award - Richard MacDonald

Every year, the NOHA recognizes the many Officials and Volunteers who contribute to the game in Northern Ontario. Traditionally, these individuals are recognized at the NOHA Annual General Meeting, however due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we will be acknowledging all award winners via the NOHA website and our various social media platforms from April 14 to April 23, 2020.

Angus Campbell Merit Award Winner – Richard MacDonald (Haileybury)

Richard MacDonald has been involved in organized hockey in the New Liskeard area for more than 20 years. He first began his involvement with Haileybury Minor Hockey Association, where he served as a Director for 3 years. He was a part of the merger between Haileybury Minor Hockey and New Liskeard Minor Hockey (now Temiskaming Shores Minor Hockey) and continued his involvement for another 16 seasons, taking on many roles.

Richard has also coached at all levels, generally coaching his son, and wore the stripes as an Official in the Temiskaming Shores area for another 10 seasons.

Currently, Richard is a Director with the Nipissing District Hockey League, which provides a place to play for more than 50 teams from Matheson down to Powassan. Richard is always willing to do what it takes, and has generally taken on the position of Treasurer and Scheduler for the League.

About the Angus Campbell Merit Award

The Angus Campbell Merit Award, named after the founder of the Northern Ontario Hockey Association, is an order of merit in hockey, awarded by the NOHA, to an individual for outstanding service to the game other than as a player. Such outstanding service must have been for a period of not less than ten years continuous duration. This award may be presented to any person who has rendered such service to any organized hockey association or member clubs anywhere in the NOHA.


Schedule for announcements

  • April 14, Most Deserving Official – Deborah Topash (North Bay)

  • April 15, Most Improved Official – Nicholas Folz (Sault Ste. Marie)

  • April 16, Most Promising Official (Keith Barton Memorial Award) – Gabe Hare (M’Chigeeng)

  • April 17, Jim Conners Award – Corey Jackson (Sault Ste. Marie)

  • April 20, Rick F. Albert Memorial Award – Stephen Surcon (Schumacher)

  • April 21, Dr. Tom Pashby Trainer of the Year – Dr. Robert Lafontaine (Timmins)

  • April 22, Ken Neeb Memorial Award – Erynne Prescott (Capreol)

  • April 23, Angus Campbell Merit Award – Richard MacDonald (Haileybury)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page