top of page

OHF Bulletin - Call for Nominations for OHF Awards

The Ontario Hockey Federation (OHF) is pleased to announce nomination forms for the 2023 OHF Awards Program are now available.

OHF Awards include:

• Bill Richmond Memorial Award

• Christine Penman Award

• Dr. Allan Morris Award

• Officiating Program Award

• Order of Merit Award

• Staff Award

• Volunteer of the Year Award

For more information on the OHF Awards Program and to download nomination forms, please visit the OHF Awards Page. The deadline to submit nomination forms to the OHF is September 4, 2023 and can be emailed to Will Metske.

The OHF Awards Program was introduced during the 2001-02 season to formally recognize the efforts and achievements of OHF members who dedicate themselves to furthering the great game of hockey.

Bill Richmond Memorial Award: In 1996, the OHF established the Bill Richmond Memorial Award to recognize outstanding achievement and involvement in hockey development within the OHF. For over 20 years, Mr. Richmond was a leader in the development and delivery of the National Coaches Certification Program (NCCP). He passed away suddenly in 1995 but left a legacy of hard work and commitment to the development of the game in our Branch.

Christine Penman Award: The Christine Penman Award is to be given to an OHF companion, current or past, who has made a significant contribution to goodwill and cooperation among the OHF companions and within the Board of the OHF. It is given, when warranted, by the Directors at an OHF annual awards weekend. The award is named in honour of the late Christine Penman, an OHF companion for over a dozen years and, notably, the organizer of the companions' program when the OHF hosted Hockey Canada's AGM in 2002.

Dr. Allan Morris Award: The Dr. Allan Morris Award is presented to recognize the outstanding achievement of an individual who has exemplified dedication to amateur hockey and the mission of the Branch. Previously known as the Past Presidents’ Honour Award, it was renamed in 2009 in honour of Dr. Allan Morris, who served as Branch President from 1997-2001 and as Hockey Canada’s Chairman of the Board from 2007 until his passing. Dr. Morris had a profound impact on the game not only within the OHF but throughout the country.

Officiating Program Award: This award recognizes individuals actively involved in the officiating program for their contribution to the game, for their officiating skills and for what they put back into amateur hockey within the Branch.

Order of Merit Award: This award honours those individuals who have served amateur hockey for many years. The recipients have participated as a player, as a coach and an association member and have made significant contributions to amateur hockey within the OHF.

Staff Award: Established in 2009, the Staff Award honours a staff person that best exemplifies the commitment to the values and objectives of the OHF and its Members, exhibits pride and respect for the organizations of the OHF and its participants, demonstrates team spirit both in the office and in one’s life and shows commitment and dedication for the betterment of the game of hockey within the Branch to the level they have the ability.

Volunteer of the Year Award: This award recognizes outstanding commitment and significant contribution to the game, the Branch and the hockey community within the OHF. The recipient must be active in hockey during the year of the award presentation.

Program Contact:

William Metske

Ontario Hockey Federation

Operations Director

Phone: (226) 533-9072


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page